[5e] My Homebrew Setting: Yskarithe, the Worlds Triune

The homebrew forum

Moderator: Moderators

GnomeWorks
Master

[5e] My Homebrew Setting: Yskarithe, the Worlds Triune

Post by GnomeWorks »

Some folks have expressed an interest in me posting my 5e homebrew. Before I do that, though, what I work on needs to be understood in context.

I've been writing about my homebrew setting for around 25 years, and running games in it for 20. I started homebrewing for it back in 2e, which went about as well as you'd expect for a 9-year-old trying to follow the shitastic guide in the 2e DMG (which, I'll mention, I was specifically forbidden from reading by my father, who believed that only the DM - him - should have access to it).

There's a whole lot of stupid history that I won't go over here because it isn't really important. What is important is the overall shape of the setting and its primary conceit. Without that understanding, my approach to homebrew - in general, but 5e, in specific - comes off as weird.

This document fragment - which has been coloquially called "the beams document" - is from a larger player's guide for my setting that I'm working on putting together. It explains what the beams are, in my setting, and how they work. There aren't any actual mechanics discussed, but the general feel for each of the beams is. The mechanics of how each beam works is hinted at in general terms, without anything solid (just to avoid overwhelming people: I wanted each beam description to be limited to a single page, and this is intended to be digestable by people new to both 5e and my setting).

What the beams document doesn't discuss is how this looks from a class design perspective. That's this table (links go to threads here for discussion of that class):
BeamAdeptExpertFighterHealerPetSparkTank
ArcaneVirtuosoPrincessRunebladeArtificerSummonerMageArbiter
PsionicsEruditeDreamerMonkArdentGestaltPsychicCenobite
TechnologyBorgDetectiveGunslingerPhysicianRiggerEngineerIronman