Trying to run a good DnD campaign. Need help.

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

DenizenKane
Journeyman

Trying to run a good DnD campaign. Need help.

Post by DenizenKane »

I'm trying to get a game started with a group of my friends that are decently experienced with 3.5 and pathfinder, and I wanted to run a fun and easy campaign starting at level 5, probably running through level 10-12. It's my first time DMing.

Whats the most ideal system out there right now for DnD/TTRPG? I've been trying to homebrew up a bunch of material, but it's time consuming and I'm a novice designer. Any good adventure module material for a beginner dm?

I figured the Den is the best place to ask.
Judging__Eagle
Prince

Post by Judging__Eagle »

[Tome] by Frank Trollman and Keith Kaczmarek; combined with:

-Kaelik's [Tome] Errata

Honestly; the buffs he gives to casters; makes them remove most of their worst mehcanical limitations; the fact that this is a good thing makes Kaelik's work more important in some ways than what Frank and Kieth figured out were (obviously) fucking up martial characters. You need to stealth buff them with spell equivalients: also as RoW combat feats = battlfield control/death effect/travel/divination powers, the flaws in Spellcasters metamagic and crafting feats are glaringly apparent. (really, [Tome] w/out Kaeliks stuff only favour powergamed spellcasters Q_Q, and Martialists in general).

-Use Red Rob's "[Tome]/Book of Gears Magical Items" rules.

The Book of Gears, as released, is self-described as "Unfinished"; Red Rob merges the original BoG; plus a pair of other TGD posters Magical Items rules hacks to BoG; as well as Kieth & Frank's notes on "minimum" magic items PCs should have per level.

E.g. of how Minimum, level-appropriate, magic items should work.