The Gaming Den Forum Index The Gaming Den
Welcome to the Gaming Den.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Google
 Search WWW   Search tgdmb.com 
Annoying Computer Stuff That You Want Share
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Gaming Den Forum Index -> I Gave the Mouse a Cookie...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4912
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Ah, you mean throw away mainboard, sell CPU and buy completely new board and different CPU. And i'd need a new AIO as well probably, if i don't have the mounting stuff for different sockets somewhere . .
And probably new RAM, because, honestly, buying DDR3 at this point does not seem that smart to me anymore . .
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hyzmarca
Prince


Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 3412

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Stahlseele wrote:
Ah, you mean throw away mainboard, sell CPU and buy completely new board and different CPU. And i'd need a new AIO as well probably, if i don't have the mounting stuff for different sockets somewhere . .
And probably new RAM, because, honestly, buying DDR3 at this point does not seem that smart to me anymore . .


At this point, DDR4 provides no performance increase over DDR3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meikle641
Duke


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 1283
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

hyzmarca wrote:
Stahlseele wrote:
Ah, you mean throw away mainboard, sell CPU and buy completely new board and different CPU. And i'd need a new AIO as well probably, if i don't have the mounting stuff for different sockets somewhere . .
And probably new RAM, because, honestly, buying DDR3 at this point does not seem that smart to me anymore . .


At this point, DDR4 provides no performance increase over DDR3.


Why is that?
_________________
Official Discord: https://discord.gg/ZUc77F7
Twitter: @HrtBrkrPress
FB Page: htttp://facebook.com/HrtBrkrPress
My store page: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/browse/pub/10679/Heartbreaker-Press
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Blasted
Knight-Baron


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 722

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Most programs aren't heavily reliant on memory speed and the increase in speed over DDR3 is very minimal. DDR4 is lower power and it can (will, maybe) reach much higher speeds that may make a bigger difference some time down the track.
It was the same when DDR3 was released and there was some time before speeds increased to make it a must buy over DDR2.
_________________
King Francis I's Mother said wrote:
The love between the kings was not just of the beard, but of the heart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4912
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

*nods*
right now, most programs and games don't care about how fast the RAM is. just that there is enough. where there is no such thing as enough.
The ONLY thing where RAM SPEED actually makes a difference is if it's shared RAM for an on board GPU.
But i'd be switching to DDR4 for the minimal energy savings and to not be on the phasing out end of DDR3 again.
But i have chosen the ASUS P9X79-E WS as a replacement for my mainboard. it is, despite the rather steep cost of 400 to 500 still cheaper than new board, new CPU, new RAM and new CPU-Cooler.
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Okay for one thing, any respectable company that makes coolers will let you order backplates for new sockets at a trivial cost, and I don't understand why the fuck you would be factoring in new RAM at all because, again, you already own that shit.

Secondly, I doubt the -E model is worth the extra money, just get the basic model.

And lastly, unless you actually have a reason (you almost assuredly do not) to maintain six physical cores (which is the only conceivable reason to be in socket 2011 in the first place), you should compare that money against i7-6700K and DDR3 motherboard for ~420, or a i7-4790k plus mobo for less than 400, either of which would firmly emphasize the single-core usage, which is, in high likelyhood, the actual bottleneck on whatever you're using that PC for (spoilers: we all know it is 100% videogames and pornography). After liquidating the Sandy/Ivy Bridge cpu (which one do you even have??), you're ahead on performance and price.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 489

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Oh and by the way, RAM speed absolutely matters on more modest platforms, like i3s and i5s. Considering the magnitude with which GPUs matter more than CPUs for games, that's absolutely a market that people should know and care about.
_________________
This signature is here just so you don't otherwise mistake the last sentence of my post for one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4912
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

CPU: 4820k, overclocked to almost 5GHz. NZXT Kraken X60 AIO Cooler to keep it happy.
i use it for experimenting with different OSes, i have 8x8Gigs of DDR3 RAM in here for work with RAM Disks as well. And of course i do some gaming with this monster too, because it'd be a waste not to.
i took the E-Model because i like E-ATX boards in an E-ATX case.

i work in IT, i do tech support for Vodafone, corporate customers, not home users.

I had my own hosted blackberry server running on here for a bit, right now me and a colleague are trying to wrap our heads around an Inventory Management System.

i have part of a virtual PBX running on this as well . .
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


Last edited by Stahlseele on Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4912
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

*Troy McClure Voice*
Hi! My name is Stahl Seele!
You may remember me from tirades such as Computers: The solution to and CAUSE of many of todays problems! and Fuck Computers in general, but this one particularly!
Last time i amused you with tales of a broken temperature sensore on the actively cooled southbridge of a Mainboard.
I have, by now, swapped it out for a new board. Works just fine.
Had a buddy look it over before, including a laser thermometer to confirm that the fucking sensor was broken.
Had that buddy help me swap the board as well and gave him the board to do with as he pleases. He built with it and some other random spareparts a new system, had the same problem . . untill a few minutes ago, when the FUCKING SENSOR DECIDED TO FUCKING WORK AGAIN!
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hadanelith
Journeyman


Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Gotta love dodgy components that work *sometimes*. Makes IT people's lives hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4912
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Trying to copy Comics from 35 DVDs.
The discs are, appearantly, years old.
So all of them are basically dead <.<
But SOME of the files still are complete.
Takes hours for one single disc to finish.
Quite annoying busywork x.x
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4912
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

I finally finished copying the defective DVDs full of comics.
Took me literally a day to do all in all x.x
Also:
FUCK MAX PATH LENGTH in Windumb! -.-
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre