The Gaming Den Forum Index The Gaming Den
Welcome to the Gaming Den.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Google
 Search WWW   Search tgdmb.com 
Annoying Computer Stuff That You Want Share
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Gaming Den Forum Index -> I Gave the Mouse a Cookie...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Ah, you mean throw away mainboard, sell CPU and buy completely new board and different CPU. And i'd need a new AIO as well probably, if i don't have the mounting stuff for different sockets somewhere . .
And probably new RAM, because, honestly, buying DDR3 at this point does not seem that smart to me anymore . .
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hyzmarca
Prince


Joined: 14 Mar 2011
Posts: 3390

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2016 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Stahlseele wrote:
Ah, you mean throw away mainboard, sell CPU and buy completely new board and different CPU. And i'd need a new AIO as well probably, if i don't have the mounting stuff for different sockets somewhere . .
And probably new RAM, because, honestly, buying DDR3 at this point does not seem that smart to me anymore . .


At this point, DDR4 provides no performance increase over DDR3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meikle641
Duke


Joined: 05 May 2008
Posts: 1280
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

hyzmarca wrote:
Stahlseele wrote:
Ah, you mean throw away mainboard, sell CPU and buy completely new board and different CPU. And i'd need a new AIO as well probably, if i don't have the mounting stuff for different sockets somewhere . .
And probably new RAM, because, honestly, buying DDR3 at this point does not seem that smart to me anymore . .


At this point, DDR4 provides no performance increase over DDR3.


Why is that?
_________________
Official Discord: https://discord.gg/ZUc77F7
Twitter: @HrtBrkrPress
FB Page: htttp://facebook.com/HrtBrkrPress
My store page: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/browse/pub/10679/Heartbreaker-Press
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Blasted
Knight-Baron


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 722

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Most programs aren't heavily reliant on memory speed and the increase in speed over DDR3 is very minimal. DDR4 is lower power and it can (will, maybe) reach much higher speeds that may make a bigger difference some time down the track.
It was the same when DDR3 was released and there was some time before speeds increased to make it a must buy over DDR2.
_________________
King Francis I's Mother said wrote:
The love between the kings was not just of the beard, but of the heart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

*nods*
right now, most programs and games don't care about how fast the RAM is. just that there is enough. where there is no such thing as enough.
The ONLY thing where RAM SPEED actually makes a difference is if it's shared RAM for an on board GPU.
But i'd be switching to DDR4 for the minimal energy savings and to not be on the phasing out end of DDR3 again.
But i have chosen the ASUS P9X79-E WS as a replacement for my mainboard. it is, despite the rather steep cost of 400 to 500 still cheaper than new board, new CPU, new RAM and new CPU-Cooler.
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Okay for one thing, any respectable company that makes coolers will let you order backplates for new sockets at a trivial cost, and I don't understand why the fuck you would be factoring in new RAM at all because, again, you already own that shit.

Secondly, I doubt the -E model is worth the extra money, just get the basic model.

And lastly, unless you actually have a reason (you almost assuredly do not) to maintain six physical cores (which is the only conceivable reason to be in socket 2011 in the first place), you should compare that money against i7-6700K and DDR3 motherboard for ~420, or a i7-4790k plus mobo for less than 400, either of which would firmly emphasize the single-core usage, which is, in high likelyhood, the actual bottleneck on whatever you're using that PC for (spoilers: we all know it is 100% videogames and pornography). After liquidating the Sandy/Ivy Bridge cpu (which one do you even have??), you're ahead on performance and price.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Oh and by the way, RAM speed absolutely matters on more modest platforms, like i3s and i5s. Considering the magnitude with which GPUs matter more than CPUs for games, that's absolutely a market that people should know and care about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

CPU: 4820k, overclocked to almost 5GHz. NZXT Kraken X60 AIO Cooler to keep it happy.
i use it for experimenting with different OSes, i have 8x8Gigs of DDR3 RAM in here for work with RAM Disks as well. And of course i do some gaming with this monster too, because it'd be a waste not to.
i took the E-Model because i like E-ATX boards in an E-ATX case.

i work in IT, i do tech support for Vodafone, corporate customers, not home users.

I had my own hosted blackberry server running on here for a bit, right now me and a colleague are trying to wrap our heads around an Inventory Management System.

i have part of a virtual PBX running on this as well . .
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


Last edited by Stahlseele on Tue Feb 16, 2016 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

*Troy McClure Voice*
Hi! My name is Stahl Seele!
You may remember me from tirades such as Computers: The solution to and CAUSE of many of todays problems! and Fuck Computers in general, but this one particularly!
Last time i amused you with tales of a broken temperature sensore on the actively cooled southbridge of a Mainboard.
I have, by now, swapped it out for a new board. Works just fine.
Had a buddy look it over before, including a laser thermometer to confirm that the fucking sensor was broken.
Had that buddy help me swap the board as well and gave him the board to do with as he pleases. He built with it and some other random spareparts a new system, had the same problem . . untill a few minutes ago, when the FUCKING SENSOR DECIDED TO FUCKING WORK AGAIN!
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hadanelith
Journeyman


Joined: 27 Aug 2011
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Gotta love dodgy components that work *sometimes*. Makes IT people's lives hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Trying to copy Comics from 35 DVDs.
The discs are, appearantly, years old.
So all of them are basically dead <.<
But SOME of the files still are complete.
Takes hours for one single disc to finish.
Quite annoying busywork x.x
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

I finally finished copying the defective DVDs full of comics.
Took me literally a day to do all in all x.x
Also:
FUCK MAX PATH LENGTH in Windumb! -.-
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

You can address long paths by prefacing them with '\\?\' as long as path components are fewer than 256 characters a piece.

Since you're talking about making a bunch of file dumps I'm gonna assume you butted up against the max length by dropping long directory chains into long destination directories? So you should be able to sort it out fine in powershell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Yeah, some of these file dumps seriously went over the limitations.
Probably made on a unix system or something like that.
Seriously. 300+ character path length including file name and extension x.x
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

i am back to complain more about that one computer i set up for windumb10.
i finally figured out, after spending a day in the bios and several different NIC drivers, what stopped me from activating it via WOL.
appearantly, there is, in win10, a function called quick boot.
why a function such as that would interfere with WOL is fucking beyond me <.<
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ikeren
Knight-Baron


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 827

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Alright, so I fix laptops as a side gig, buy em cheap/not working, resell on Craigslist. Most of the time, it's pretty easy money.

Someone gave me a Toshiba M300 for free. Like seriously, a Craigslist random was just like "Here, I'll leave it on my porch step for you, no hard drive." I installed Windows on an external hard drive and booted it from that to test it, and it works. Why did I install Windows to an external hard drive?

This is fucking why.

I have never seen this before, and I hope I never see this again. I need a tiny (~1.5 cm or smaller) SATA Extension Pin, something that I can't even find existing. I don't have any idea why anyone ever designs something like that, but apparently they do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

It's a vestige of the transitional period when SATA and IDE were contemporaries.

There is no need to be upset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

i have one of those adaptors.
not sure why you are upset.
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blasted
Knight-Baron


Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 722

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Quick boot killed my wifi and usb drivers. It's completely terrible and I'm not sure why they enable it by default.
_________________
King Francis I's Mother said wrote:
The love between the kings was not just of the beard, but of the heart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

it is supposed to be an energy saving thing as far as i understand.
something like really deep sleep that can be booted up automagically for scheduled updates and reboots(yes, stupid i know) for laptops and the such.
it really does not work very well for stationary tower style computers i think.
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ikeren
Knight-Baron


Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 827

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

@Eikre; there is no IDE port. Just a SATA port, backset. I've seen...probably 500 laptops doing this over the last few years, and lots of Vista era machines, and lots of machines by Toshiba. It's the only model that has done this. It's dumb design, and that's annoying. Though I do appreciate the link.

Last edited by Ikeren on Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leress
Prince


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 2522

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Ikeren, I think I found the connector

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/252255341559?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true


Found it

http://www.impactcomputers.com/a000026220.html


Apparently the M300/M300D L310/L310D Satellite models have this trait.
_________________
"Excuse me. You got your penis in my woman. Correct yourself."
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


Last edited by Leress on Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:37 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stahlseele
Prince


Joined: 14 Apr 2010
Posts: 4827
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

I'd put in an SSD. Those do not care as much about being shaken around, make no noise/vibrations, use less power and speed up the whole system.
Then simply use a bit of two sided sticky tape to put a bit of wood or lego in there to keep it in place <.<
Yes, it is a botch-job. But a good one!
_________________
Welcome, to IronHell.
Click here to see the hidden message (It might contain spoilers)


Last edited by Stahlseele on Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eikre
Knight


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

Ikeren wrote:
@Eikre; there is no IDE port. Just a SATA port, backset. I've seen...probably 500 laptops doing this over the last few years, and lots of Vista era machines, and lots of machines by Toshiba. It's the only model that has done this. It's dumb design, and that's annoying. Though I do appreciate the link.


It comes from a time period where IDE was still common. That laptop is one of dozen of different M30X models, and some of them were built with IDE, where it was common to use a ribbon cable instead of plugging directly into the bus seated on the motherboard. There are also examples of interim designs where the bus was physically compliant with IDE but some of the pins were variable and you could use a shim to employ a SATA drive in that spot. In whichever case, the chassis that your laptop is built around is designed so that the parts remain fungible and they could continue to use it for whichever design made the most sense on successive production runs.

It's only a bug up your asshole this time because the donor didn't give you a complete machine. Could have just as easily been one with a bunch of missing keys and you'd still be procuring proprietary parts.


Stahlseele wrote:
I'd put in an SSD. Those do not care as much about being shaken around, make no noise/vibrations, use less power and speed up the whole system.
Then simply use a bit of two sided sticky tape to put a bit of wood or lego in there to keep it in place <.<
Yes, it is a botch-job. But a good one!


Yes, and there's a deal on first-gen X25s for an $eponymous right now at newegg.

I suspect if he's selling these things to internet randos instead of providing machines for people he actually cares about, though, it could be a bad idea. 80GB is a smaller number than 160GB, but "HHD" and "SSD" are not numbers at all, so guess which one people pay attention to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koumei
Serious Badass


Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 12745
Location: South Ausfailia

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote Add User to Ignore List

So, LibreOffice is obviously fucking shit. What with it just being the next interation of OpenOffice, which can die in a fire. I would like something for creating web pages, and it needs to meet the following criteria:

  • WYSIWYG: yes I COULD just do it all in Notepad, if I felt like manually typing all the fucking tags then constantly opening it in FF to make sure I formatted it instead of just seeing the changes as I make them.
  • Free: obviously
  • Works on Ubuntu. Specifically, one easy process to install it and get it working in Ubuntu, I don't want someone telling me to just install four other dependencies and then custom-build a fucking install file.

_________________
Count Arioch the 28th wrote:
There is NOTHING better than lesbians. Lesbians make everything better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Gaming Den Forum Index -> I Gave the Mouse a Cookie... All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group