[dom4] Themiskyra Advice Wanted

Discussions and debates about video games

Moderator: Moderators

mlangsdorf
Master

[dom4] Themiskyra Advice Wanted

Post by mlangsdorf »

So I'm still relatively new to Dominions 4, and for whatever reason I've decided to play MA Themiskyra. And I thought I'd get some advice on several issues:

* Pretender Design, Magic Paths
Themiskyra has lots of sacred troops, so it seems that a Pretender with a 1-3 paths at a high level would be really good. But it also has a lot of (crappy) magical diversity, so a mid-rank rainbow might help for finding gems. Which is better? And if I go for a blesser, which paths are best? Right now, I'm playing a rainbow with a modest A4 and empowering myself later, but it doesn't feel optimal.

* Pretender Design, Scales
I really don't know what I want here. I'm perpetually broke because the sacreds are expensive, so Order + Productivity seems useful. But my magic research is meh, so maybe more Magic? Luck always seems useful, except I get Crystal Seers to resist the effects of bad luck.

* Magical Research Priorities
I'm pushing levels 3-4 of Thaumaturgy, Alteration, and Enchantment in no particular order. Is there some hugely effective spell I should be aiming for?

* Leader selection
So normally I build a couple of combat leaders (1-2 Warrior Princesses, 1-2 Gryphon Priestesses, 1-2 Warrior Sorcerers), a Crystal Seer, and a bunch of Jade Sorcerers (for research) in my capital until I get a second fort complex, and then I shift to a mix of sorcerer types for more effecient research and path variety. I set up 1-2 armies with the Warrior Princesses and Warrior Sorcerers and use the Gryphon Priestesses to ferry in new troops. This works, but maybe I should be doing something else.

* Troop Selection, non-sacreds