DSMatticus Want Make Vidya Gaem

Discussions and debates about video games

Moderator: Moderators

DSMatticus
King

DSMatticus Want Make Vidya Gaem

Post by DSMatticus »

So, I've got free time and energy these days, and I've been thinking about pet software projects I could burn it on. I finally decided, hey, why not make a video game? Obviously, we're not talking about anything particularly complicated or ambitious. I'm a one-man hobbyist, so I'm aiming for something between "Newgrounds flash game" and "this is supposed to be worth money on Steam? Really?" at best.

Unfortunately, I'm having trouble coming up with ideas that I think would fall in that range that I also find personally interesting. And if I don't find it interesting, it is going to be hard to drive myself to actually work on it at all. So, I have come here to solicit ideas from denners. What silly little time wasters do you wish existed and/or think would be interesting projects to work on?

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional artist (or even a good one), so excuses to engage in pretentious minimalism ("Art? Yeah, I can put geometric shapes on the screen") or avoid animation ("you know what doesn't have any moving parts? Spaceships!") or use shitty low quality pixel art ("retro is cool it's not because I'm lazy shut up") are much appreciated.
fectin
Prince

Post by fectin »

Can you do something vaguely like SpaceChem? Maybe steampunkish instead?

Something like a guided tour of designing and building a giant steam-mech.