Time to put down that barrel of cocks.

Practice posts and questions about the boards. The registration code for this board is 'Th3G@m|ngD3n' (Note the use of numbers and symbols!)

Moderator: Moderators

Orion
Prince

Time to put down that barrel of cocks.

Post by Orion »

I am as far as I know the originator of the "barrel of cocks" meme, or at least the one who popularized it on this board. (I seem to recall that image files were found suggesting the idea has devloped elsewhere independently) I remember why I said it and I stand by it in that context. I'll admit, as a writer I was initially gratified when my phrase seemed to catch on. But But over time my excitement has faded into indifference and then dread. Enough is enough, and it's time to put that barrel of cocks back on the shelf.

Like a lot of posters, I was surprised and pleased to discover the Den's lack of a profanity filter. I quickly embraced those new notes in my register. However, I didn't stay at the Den just out of the exhilration of cussing. I also stayed because of the community standards it implied. What I valued about the Den's freedom of discourse was our ability to communicate clearly, directly, and concisely about matters of controversial opinion. Sometimes swearing was the best way to establish that Fighters fucking suck, that Mearls' design credits are less finished than a 5-week abortion, and reading Apocalypse world made me literally ejaculate with joy and inspiration.

Today, that barrel of cocks that once surged with vigorous creative energy has become the withered center of a flaccid ritual. We have become the Sambia, proffering the barrel to newcomers for no purpose other than initiation into the mysteriess of the Den. The effort to stuff our posts full ever more elaborate obscenities has gone so far that I myself often find a long post difficult to take in; for newcomers, I have no doubt that it makes our actual ideas difficult to swallow.