The Binder

General questions, debates, and rants about RPGs

Moderator: Moderators

User3
Prince

The Binder

Post by User3 »

The tome of magic had three classes the "binder", the "shadowcaster", and the "truenamerist talker guy" while the shadowcaster could be pretty easily replicated by being a sorceror, researching some spells, and just refusing to even try and be useful and the true name speaker has no hope of not being broken the binder isn't so awful.

In terms of fluff I like the binder, it has a goofy badness about, it and in terms of mechanics the binder is playable if underpowered. There is a sweet spot between the rogue and the cleric where you have the ability to play the game without ruining it for everyone else.

The problem is right now the binder falls pretty solidly into the anchor catagory which is a shame. The designers think that if the question "what are you good at?" is asked that "I'm not good at anything, but I'm bad at everything!" is a perfectly cool answer. Fortunately all that needs to be done is ramp up the power a bit. Not too much even.

Hit Die: d6
BAB/Saves: BAB: Med (as Cleric); Fort: Good; Reflex: Bad; Will: Bad
Class Skills: The Binder's class skills (and the key ability for each skill) are Appraise (Int), Bluff (Cha), COncentration (Con), Craft (Int), Decipher Script (Int), Diplomacy (Cha), Disable Device (Int), Disguise (Cha), Escape Artist (Dex), Forgery (Int), Gather Information (Cha), Hide (Dex), Intimidate (Cha), Knowledge (all taken seperately) (Int), Listen (Wis), Move Silently (Dex), Open Lock (Dex), Perform (Cha), Profession (Wis), Search (Int), Sense Motive (Wis), Sleight of Hand (Dex), Spot (Wis), Survival (Wis), and Use Magic Device (Cha).

Skills/Level: 6 + Intelligence Bonus

The rest of the class is largely the same with the following changes: The binder can bind a total of 1 vestige at first level, 2 at fifth level, 3 at ninth level, 4 at 13th level, and 5 at 17th level.